
 

 
 

REQUIREMENTS FOR HAZARDOUS WASTE TRANSPORTERS 
This fact sheet is one in a series designed to help Pennsylvania businesses understand the requirements that apply to hazardous 
waste-related activities. This fact sheet addresses regulations governing hazardous waste transporters. 
Federal hazardous waste regulations (40 CFR) cited in this fact sheet have been incorporated by reference as Pennsylvania 
regulations in Title 25 of the Pa. Code. Additions or modifications to the federal regulations incorporated by reference appear in 
the Pa. Code and are appropriately referenced in this document. 
Please note that this fact sheet addresses only the hazardous waste regulations of the Pennsylvania Department of 
Environmental Protection (DEP) and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Hazardous waste transporters are 
subject to regulations implemented by other state and federal agencies, such as the U.S. Department of Transportation and the 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration, etc. 
Transporters of hazardous waste in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania are subject to the following requirements: 
EPA Identification Numbers 
 Before transporting hazardous wastes, all transporters must obtain an EPA identification number (40 CFR 263.11). 
Licensing and Bonding Requirements 
 With a few exceptions, transporters may not pick up or deliver hazardous wastes within Pennsylvania without first obtaining 

a license from DEP (25 Pa. Code 263a.13). Application information and forms may be obtained by calling DEP at 
717-787-6239 or by accessing DEP’s Web site at www.dep.pa.gov, keyword: HW Transportation. 

 In addition, transporters of hazardous waste should contact the Pennsylvania State Police at 717-346-7347 and the 
Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission at 717-787-3834 to learn how their requirements may apply. 

Transporters of hazardous waste passing through Pennsylvania without pickup or delivering wastes are not required to obtain a 
license. 
 To apply for a transporter license, applicants must: 

• Have an EPA ID number 
• Submit a hazardous waste transporter license application (2510-FM-BWM0052A) to DEP along with an application fee 

($500 for a new license or $250 for a renewal, plus $5 for each license card requested in excess of ten) 
• Submit a completed Form HW-C Compliance History form (2540-FM-BWM0058) regarding compliance history with 

relevant environmental protection requirements 
• Prepare and submit a Transporter Contingency Plan 
• Deposit a collateral bond payable to Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The bond amount shall be sufficient to assure 

that the licensee complies with the requirements of the law and its associated regulations, the terms and conditions of 
the license, and any DEP order issued to the licensee, but shall be a minimum of $10,000. A collateral bond can take 
the form of an indemnity agreement payable to Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and can be supported by the deposit 
with DEP of cash or negotiable bonds. Alternately, a collateral bond could comprise an irrevocable letter of credit from 
any bank authorized to transact business in the United States. Specific conditions for collateral bonds and letters of 
credit are set forth in 25 Pa. Code 263a.32. 

 You may be deemed to have a license for transporting hazardous wastes (without applying for and obtaining one) provided 
you satisfy certain requirements. For example, if you are a very small quantity generator (VSQG) transporting your own 
wastes, you are deemed to have a license for that transportation (25 Pa. Code 262a.14(b)). Similarly, transporters who are 
transporting recyclable materials utilized for precious metals recovery or transporting universal wastes are deemed to have 
a license for transporting those wastes if in compliance with other requirements listed in 25 Pa. Code 266a.70(1) and 
266b.50, respectively. 

A license to transport hazardous waste in Pennsylvania is nontransferable and usable only by the licensee and employees of 
the licensee. Employees are persons paid wages or salary by the licensee and from whom payroll taxes (e.g., income tax, social 
security, etc.) are withheld from compensation. Leased, contracted or subcontracted drivers or equipment with drivers are not 
employees. Unless they are employees of the licensee, it is illegal to allow persons or other entities to transport hazardous waste 
under the hazardous waste transporter license, except as accepted by DEP on an executed Affidavit. Contact the DEP 
Hazardous Waste Management Division for direction if intending to use leased, contracted or subcontracted drivers or equipment 
with drivers to transport hazardous waste in Pennsylvania. 
Reporting and Payment of Fees 
 Transporters of manifested shipments of hazardous waste to or from a location within Pennsylvania are subject to a quarterly 

hazardous waste transportation fee (25 Pa. Code 263a.23 – 263a.24). This fee is payable to “Commonwealth of 
Pennsylvania.” Payments are due on the 20th of January, April, July and October and must be accompanied by required 
forms, which are available by contacting DEP at 717-783-9258. For information about filing reports electronically, visit DEP’s 
Web site at www.dep.pa.gov, keyword: Quarterly HW Forms. Civil penalties may be assessed by DEP for failure to submit 
your hazardous waste transporter fees. 

https://www.dep.pa.gov/Business/Land/Waste/SolidWaste/HazardousWaste/Transportation/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.dep.pa.gov/


 

Transfer Facilities 
 During the course of transportation, transporters may store manifested shipments of hazardous waste in containers at a 

transfer facility for ten days or less (40 CFR 263.12). If hazardous waste transporters store hazardous waste at a transfer 
facility for less than ten days but longer than three days, transporters must prepare an in-transit storage preparedness, 
prevention and contingency (PPC) plan. This plan must be approved by DEP before such storage begins. Hazardous waste 
transporters must also prepare an in-transit storage PPC plan if transferring hazardous wastes from one vehicle to another 
at a transfer facility (25 Pa. Code 263a.12), even if the waste is stored for three days or less. In addition to PPC plan 
approval, prior to operating a transfer facility as described, transporters must increase the collateral bond by a minimum 
of $10,000.  

Compliance with the Manifest System and Recordkeeping 
General Requirements 
 Hazardous waste accepted for transport must be accompanied by a manifest signed by the hazardous waste generator. 

Before transporting the waste, hazardous waste transporters must sign, date and print or type their name on the manifest 
and return a signed copy to the generator. Transporters must ensure that the manifest accompanies the waste (40 CFR 
263.20(a)-(c) and 25 Pa. Code 263a.20) and must ensure that all copies of the manifest are properly completed. 

 When delivering hazardous waste to another hazardous waste transporter or to the designated facility, transporters must 
obtain the handwritten signature of the receiving party and the date of delivery on the manifest. Transporters must retain a 
copy of the signed manifest for three years from the date the waste was accepted by the initial transporter and give the 
remaining copies to the party receiving the waste (40 CFR 263.20(d) & 263.22(a)). 

 Transporters must deliver the entire quantity of hazardous waste that is accepted from a generator or transporter to the: 
• designated facility 
• alternate designated facility 
• next designated hazardous waste transporter 
• place outside the U.S. designated by the generator 

 On June 30, 2018, the EPA launched the Hazardous Waste Electronic Manifest System (e-Manifest) for tracking hazardous 
waste shipments electronically. Transporters of hazardous waste may also meet the manifest requirements by utilizing an 
electronic hazardous waste manifest within the e-Manifest system (40 CFR 263.20). For additional information about the 
electronic manifest or using the e-Manifest system, visit www.epa.gov/e-manifest. 

If the hazardous waste cannot be delivered, transporters must contact the generator for instructions and revise the manifest 
accordingly. In all cases, transporters must ensure that the manifest is properly completed. In addition, transporters may not 
accept or transport hazardous waste if the number or type of containers or quantity of waste does not correspond to the 
information on the manifest (40 CFR 263.21). 
Water Transportation (Bulk Shipments) 
 The requirements of 40 CFR 263.20(c), (d) and (f) do not apply to water (bulk shipment) transporters of hazardous waste 

if: 
• The hazardous waste is delivered by water to the designated facility 
• A shipping paper containing all the information required on the manifest (excluding EPA ID numbers, generator 

certification and signatures) and, for exports, an EPA Acknowledgement of Consent, accompanies the hazardous waste 
• The delivering transporter obtains the date of delivery and handwritten signature of the owner/operator of the 

designated facility 
• The person delivering the hazardous waste to the initial water transporter obtains the date and signature of the water 

transporter on the manifest and forwards it to the designated facility 
• A copy of the shipping paper or manifest is retained by all water transporters for three years from the date the waste 

was accepted by the initial transporter (40 CFR 263.20(e) & 263.22(b)) 
Rail Transportation 
 Rail transporters accepting hazardous waste from non-rail transporters must: 

• Sign and date the manifest acknowledging acceptance of the hazardous waste 
• Return a signed copy of the manifest to the non-rail transporter 
• Forward at least three copies of the manifest to: the next non-rail transporter, if any; the designated facility, if the 

shipment is delivered there by rail; or the last rail transporter designated to handle the hazardous waste in the U.S. 
• Retain one copy of the manifest and rail shipping paper for three years from the date the hazardous waste was accepted 

by the initial transporter (40 CFR 263.20(f)(1) & 263.22(c)(1)) 
 Rail transporters must ensure that a shipping paper containing all the information required on the manifest (excluding EPA 

ID numbers, generator certification and signatures) and, for exports, an EPA Acknowledgement of Consent, accompanies 
the hazardous waste at all times (40 CFR 263.20(f)(2)).

http://www.epa.gov/e-manifest
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 When delivering hazardous waste to a designated facility by rail, transporters must obtain the date and handwritten signature 
of the owner/operator of the designated facility on the manifest (or the shipping paper, if the manifest has not been received 
by the facility), and retain a copy of the manifest or signed shipping paper for three years from the date the hazardous waste 
was accepted by the initial transporter (40 CFR 263.20(f)(3) & 263.22(c)(2)). 

 When delivering hazardous waste by rail to non-rail transporters, transporters must obtain the date and handwritten 
signatures of non-rail transporters and retain a copy of the manifest for their files (40 CFR 263.22). Before accepting 
hazardous waste from rail transporters, non-rail transporters must sign and date the manifest and provide a copy to the rail 
transporter (40 CFR 263.20(f)(4) & (5)).  

Transporting Waste Out of the United States 
 In the case of waste exports (other than those subject to Subpart H of 40 CFR Part 262), you must not accept hazardous 

waste from a primary exporter or other person if you know the shipment does not conform to the EPA Acknowledgement of 
Consent between EPA and the receiving country. Both a manifest and an EPA Acknowledgement of Consent must 
accompany exported shipments of waste. You may not accept hazardous waste exports subject to Subpart H of 40 CFR 
Part 262 without a tracking document that includes the information required by 40 CFR 262.84 (40 CFR 263.20(a) & (c)). 

 If you transport hazardous waste out of the United States, you must: 
• Indicate on the manifest the date the waste left the U.S. 
• Sign the manifest and retain one copy for three years from the date the waste was accepted by the initial transporter 
• Return a signed copy to the generator 
• Give a copy of the manifest to a U.S. Customs official at the point of departure from the U.S. (40 CFR 263.20(g) & 

263.22(d)) 
Transporting Small Quantity Generator (SQG) Wastes Under a Reclamation Agreement 
 If transporting hazardous wastes generated by an SQG (a generator of greater than 100 but less than 1,000 kilograms of 

hazardous waste in a calendar month), transporters are not required to comply with 40 CFR 263.20 or 263.22, provided 
that: 
• The hazardous waste is transported pursuant to a reclamation agreement under 40 CFR 262.20(h) 
• A log or shipping paper with the following information for each shipment is recorded: 

-- The name, address and EPA ID number of the hazardous waste generator 
-- The quantity of hazardous waste accepted 
-- All DOT-required shipping information 
-- The date the hazardous waste is accepted 

• Record accompanies the transportation of hazardous waste to the reclamation facility 
• Record is retained for at least three years after termination or expiration of the agreement (40 CFR 263.20(h)) 

Hazardous Waste Discharges 
 In the event of a discharge of hazardous waste during transportation, hazardous waste transporters must take appropriate 

immediate action to protect human health and the environment (e.g., notify local authorities, dike discharge area). 
Transporters must clean up any hazardous waste discharge that occurs during transportation or take actions as may be 
required or approved by federal, state or local officials so that the discharge no longer presents a hazard to human health 
or the environment (40 CFR 263.30 and 263.31). Any air, rail, highway or water transporter who has discharged hazardous 
waste must: 
• Notify the National Response Center at 800-424-8802 or 202-426-2675, if required by 49 CFR 171.15 
• Report in writing to the U.S. Department of Transportation, as required by 49 CFR 171.16 
• Notify DEP by telephone at 717-787-4343 
• For water transporters only, provide the same notice required by 33 CFR 153.203 for discharges of oil and hazardous 

substances (40 CFR 263.30, 263.31; 25 Pa. Code 263a.30) 
For more information, visit www.dep.pa.gov, keywords: Hazardous Waste, Generator, Manifests and TSDF. 

http://www.dep.pa.gov/

